Armies

Armies, the main impetus behind your plans to take this world, are the most important part of your strategy. The only way to take a new territory is to move in a conquering army. These armies are represented on the map by a suitable marker – usually a model from the army that you will use in your battles throughout the campaign. A battle can only take place when an army either moves into enemy held territory or moves into a tile with another army. Two armies can never occupy the same tile reguardless of whether they are friendly or not.

Mustering an Army

Each player starts with one army. The tile that army is stationed in your command tile. The command tile is also where your armies will sometimes retreat to if they are routed. You may also purchase armies during the muster step of the campaign round. To purchase an army you must pay 5 supply during the Muster step of the campaign round. New armies may arrive on your command tile or any friendly starport tile. You can only ever have 3 armies on the campaign map. If for some reason a player ends up with more than 3 armies, he must select one to disband in the upkeep step of the campaign round.
Armies also require upkeep. The amount of upkeep is paid per and each new army cost more to upkeep than the last. See the chart below for details.

Army Number…Upkeep Cost
1st…………………Free
2nd……………….3 supply
3rd………………..5 supply

Moving an Army

A player may issue any number of move orders. Each move order affects one army and costs two supply. How far an army moves and what happens after the move depends on whether the tile it lands in is hostile, neutral, or friendly, and whether there is an army in that tile. An army can never be ordered to end its movement in a tile occupied by a friendly army.

Armies always move one tile with one exception. If ordered to move to a friendly tile and the army only passes through friendly tiles to get there, it may move two tiles instead. If, however, two armies pass through the same tile the two players must treat their armies as if they we both ordered to move into that same tile. The two armies, per the rules, must then immediately fight a battle.

If an army moves into a tile occupied by a hostile army then a battle will follow in the battle step. If an army moves into a tile owned by another player, a battle may follow in the battle step if the tile owner chooses. If an army moves into a neutral tile, that tile is immediately conquered by the moving army and added to that player’s empire.

Where………………..How Far………..Result
Empty, Friendly……..2 Tiles*…………Occupy Tile
Empty, Neutral………1 Tile……………Conquer and Occupy Tile
Empty, Hostile………1 Tile……………Battle if tile owner chooses
Occupied, Friendly…1 Tile……………Battle
Occupied, Neutral….1 Tile……………Battle
Occupied, Hostile…..1 Tile……………Battle
*An army may move two tiles if passing solely through friendly tiles.

Warlords

Each army is lead by a powerful leader that may be known as General, Marshall, Commander, Champion, or something far more ominous. For the purposes of the campaign each leader is known as a Warlord. Every army must have one warlord, and the warlord can never transfer to another army. Even if your army warlord model “dies” in battle he isn’t considered destroyed for campaign purposes. We can assume he’s tough enough to have simply been wounded rather than killed outright. If the army your warlord is leading is destroyed then the warlord is assumed to retreat to your base of operations and will apply any remaining warlord traits to the next army you muster. If there is more than one warlord available when mustering an army the player may choose which warlord will lead his army. Defending tiles with no army present do not have the benefits of a warlord, and don’t choose a warlord trait in the way the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook prescribes. Instead, the defenders are just another link in a long chain of defense. Their true leader is far off on a campaign.

Armies

The Fall of Panexos Dadamh